Asteroid Tracker

device-1

I published a quick app to the market, NEO Droid – Asteroid Tracker. Just s simple app that shows asteroids and comets (aka near-earth objets) in the vicinity of earth. This was really a test for me, to see if I could reliably mine useful data from an HTML web page. It turned out to not be that bad. If you are adept with regular expressions, picking what you want out of a web page is quite easy, and as it turns out quite fast … faster than trying to parse the web page’s structure.

I wonder how the folks at the NEO program feel about third-parties building apps that use their data? In all likelihood, this data is for fun in the first place so they don’t care. Or, they are happy that people are writing free apps to publicize them. Under other circumstances, I think it could be a problem (for-pay apps, re-purposing the data, etc).

2 Responses to Asteroid Tracker

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.
    I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!
    !

  2. rozwody łódź says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The design and style look great though!

    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Thanks

Leave a Reply

