3D Model Viewer for Android

I just published a new application on the Android Market. It’s called ModelView and is a 3D model viewer. You can download it onto 1.6+ devices. It supports loading of standard .OFF and .OBJ format files, allows rotation and zoom (via multi-touch, on 2.0+ devices), and comes packaged with many interesting 3D models. You can also view your own .OBJ / .OFF files by placing them on the SD card.

This started out as a sample OpenGL project, with me learning how to define simple 3D objects with vertices and triangles. From there I started to think about how I could define the model’s data some other way than statically in the code. Then I started looking for standard ways to do that. Then getting lazy and wanting to take advantage of models defined by others.  I ended up learning quite a bit about OpenGL and 3D graphics. Now it’s time to get a book and put it all in it’s place. The app is really just a learning exercise and serves no real purposes, but it’s fun to play with so I posted on the market so other people can take a look. The code is available on Google code, and hopefully someone else can learn from this.

15 Responses to 3D Model Viewer for Android

  1. Pd says:

    Hi,
    Was great to see your app. !! big big effort I must say…!! Actually I have a lot of textured .ply models, and would like to port them and view on android….any suggestions (other than converting them all 😦 ) ? can any sort of conversion code be added to your code ?

    • Jeffrey Blattman says:

      i don’t see myself having time to code the .ply format in the near future. in addition, i think you might be disappointed. mobile devices are limited by their memory in this type of application. when poking around .ply sites, the example models i found were definitely too complex to load into a mobile device.

  2. gabisa7 says:

    Hi!
    I can’t seem to find a way to import my own .obj files using your app. Please tell me how to do that, there seems to be no “open” button or smt. I put them on the SD card but the app does not have a folder so I can put them there. I’m using 2.1 version of Android. do I need froyo? maybe the app needs to be installed on sd card?

    • Jeffrey Blattman says:

      create a folder called “modelview-data” in the root of your SD card, and put your files there. you need some sort of file manager to do that; i use “ES File Manager”. sorry it’s a little cryptic, but i didn’t want to build a full-fledged file explorer into the app.

      don’t expect miracles with your .obj files.

  3. Mike says:

    Hi! I really like the look of this and have been looking for a while for something that can do this job. One thing I want to know; are you in the future planning to make one that supports hard/ soft normal data? It would help show off the shape of models much better. If you can get in touch with me through my email address it would be much appreciated, thank you.

  4. Lorenzo says:

    Hi,

    As above, can’t use own .obj files, already put in new folder placed in root called ‘modelview-data’ and also ‘modelview-android’ as suggested on another site. Neither worked and the -data one actually created an error ‘process org.jtb.modelview has stopped unexpectedly.

    • Jeffrey Blattman says:

      I would love to know what the error is. Can you make the data file available in some way?

  5. Ladikusz says:

    Nice to see this useful app for free. Sadly I have a big issue with it, if I try to open some larger files (~2,4MB) I get java out of memory error. I did not get enough deep into the android memory handling, but I think it could be someway optimized, or mapped to handle large files. (I tried on motorola defy, 512MB RAM, 800MHz ARM11)

  6. Jay says:

    Worked fantastic with my own OBJ file. Created it in Solidworks then converted it to DAE then to OBJ. Assembly is great. Only thing left is textures/colors 🙂

  7. jarko2227 says:

    plis add (.blend) format and could use a better icon

  8. Dan says:

    Would love to have basic view commands like ‘zoom extents’ and also if the view manipulation was similar to Google Earth.

  9. nokia pc suite…

    […]3D Model Viewer for Android « Zero Credibility[…]…

  10. Vera says:

    How do you access your own model. I have tried it on 2 phones with android 2.1 2.2 and I am unable to load my own model

    • gc says:

      I have manager to open my own obj file easily. using some kind of file browser (i tried both Astro and File Explorer) file you .obj file, use the “Open As” option and choose “Image” – you will get a list of apps that can show a image. The 3D-Model-viewer somehow register to open images – choosing it will open your file.
      Good luck.

  11. Thanks for the app! , just download it and works great! , i really need something like this to show my friends my models “on -the- go”.. I really appreciate it

Leave a Reply

